Backup4all is now used on NASA's International Space Station

Backup4all is now used on NASA's International Space Station

How to shutdown computer after backup

This article applies only to Backup4all. If you don't have it yet, you must download it first.

DOWNLOAD BACKUP4ALL
Jul 13, 2018

We strive to keep our articles as accurate as possible. If you notice any inconsistencies or outdated info please let us know.

How to shutdown computer after backup

In Backup4all you can set different actions to be executed after the backup: shutdown, log off, stand by or hibernate. Such an action will be executed only after the backup is finished and the result of the action after backup will not be logged in Backup4all.

Summary

In Backup4all you can set different actions to be executed after the backup: shutdown, log off, stand by or hibernate. Such an action will be executed only after the backup is finished and the result of the action after backup will not be logged in Backup4all.

On this page:

How to set shutdown / stand by / log off / hibernate computer after backup

To set the action after backup (shutdown, log off, stand by or hibernate), please open Backup Properties and go to "Advanced" page. In the "Run action after backup" section, you will find the "Run program or action" checkbox. Please select it and you will be able to access the action field.

Available predefined actions are:

  • <Stand by> - selecting this option, the computer will enter in the Stand by state after the backup is executed.
  • <Hibernate> - selecting this option, the computer goes in Hibernate (if available) after the backup execution.
  • <Log off> - selecting this option, the computer will close all applications and will logs off current user. When force parameters is set (example: <Log off /f>), the system will force applications to be closed. Force parameter might cause some applications to loose unsaved data.
  • <Shut down> - selecting this option, the computer will be Shut down. When force parameters is set (example: <Shut down /f>), the system will force applications to be closed. Force parameter might cause some applications to loose unsaved data.

How to set additional options for action after backup

Run only once

If this option is set, the action will run only once at the next backup execution and the Run program/action option will be reset and disabled.

Run program or action on

You can set conditions to run the action after the backup: on Success, on Warnings or on Errors. You can check multiple options or a single one, but at least one option must be checked.

Please note Backup4all won't wait for the after backup action in order to finish the backup. It will only trigger the action at the end of the backup.



POPULAR ARTICLES

Full backup
07 December 2018
USB backup
18 January 2019
FTP backup
15 October 2018
Mirror backup
12 October 2018


LATEST ARTICLES

How to clear the backup
14 March 2019
Backup demo
13 March 2019