How to erase a CD/DVD/Blu-ray with Backup4all

This article applies only to Backup4all. If you don't have it yet, you must download it first.

Download Now
Buy Licenses
Oct 02, 2018

Backup4all 7.x, 6.x, 5.x, 4.x

We strive to keep our articles as accurate as possible. If you notice any inconsistencies or outdated info please let us know.

How to erase a CD/DVD/Blu-ray with Backup4all

This article shows you how to erase the CD/DVD/Blu-ray using Backup4all. The Erase CD/DVD/Blu-ray window can be opened from the File->Tools->Erase Disc menu item.

You can find the "Erase Disc" option under File -> Tools menu.

erase cd dvd bluray

When the window is shown, devices capable of writing to CD, DVD or Blu-ray disc are listed in it. The first device from the list is selected by default.
A summary of properties is shown for each device (calculated by Backup4all's internal burner):

  • Maximum read speed of device - shows the maximum reading speed of the device (kb/s)
  • Maximum write speed of device - shows the maximum writing speed of the device (kb/s)
  • Reading capabilities - displays a list of media the device can read from
  • Writing capabilities - displays a list of media the device can write to
  • Disk type - shows the type of media inserted
  • Sessions on disk - number of sessions on the disk
  • Disk free space - free space on disk
  • Disk size - total size of disk
  • Maximum read speed of media - maximum reading speed of media
  • Maximum write speed of media - maximum writing speed of media When an erase is performed, the progress bar shows the percentage of the operation completed.

Options

  • Erase - Erases the CD/DVD/Blu-ray based on the selection from the combo:
    • Quick erase - disk appears to be empty, but the data is not physically erased (selected by default)
    • Full erase - will physically erase all data on disk. Takes longer to perform
  • Load - Closes the CD/DVD/Blu-ray tray. The button is enabled only when a device is selected.
  • Eject - Opens the CD/DVD/Blu-ray tray. The button is enabled only when a device is selected.
  • Refresh - Will reload all information about the CD/DVD/Blu-ray burners.
  • Close - Closes the Erase CD/DVD/Blu-ray window.