We strive to keep our articles as accurate as possible. If you notice any inconsistencies or outdated info please let us know.
The Create Shortcut window can be opened from the File->Create Shortcut... menu item or by right-clicking the backup job from the backup list and selecting Create Shortcut... It creates a shortcut for the backup job on a designated location and you can simply run the backup job by double-clicking it.
On the General page, you can set the following options:
Backup job - Select a backup job from the list to be executed
Backup tag - Select a backup tag from the list to be executed
All jobs - The shortcut will back up all jobs one after the other
One Touch Backup - The shortcut will start the backup job/tag assigned to One Touch Backup
Show main application Option set by default. When you will double-click the backup shortcut, the main application will start and the backup will be executed.
Furthermore, if the Close after run option is checked, Backup4all will be closed after the backup job is executed.
User can set a different priority level for the action started by the shortcut: backup, load, test or cleanup. Just move the cursor to a lower or higher priority level.
You can select "Force all notifications to timeout" option to make sure the backup is not waiting for such a notification.
Use icon of backup job - If this option is checked, the shortcut placed on the desktop, quick launch or other location, will have the same icon as the one it has in the backup list. If unchecked, the default Backup4all icon will be displayed.
On the What page you can set the following options:
What to execute
You can select an action to perform when you double-click on the shortcut:
Default - executes the default backup type defined in the backup job
Full - executes a full backup, no matter what the backup type defined in the backup job is
Differential - executes a differential backup, no matter what the backup type defined in the backup job is
Incremental - executes an incremental backup, no matter what the backup type defined in the backup job is
Clear backup before run - If this is checked, Backup4all will first delete the ".bkc" file and all zip files associated with the current backup job and after that execute the action.
Test - you can create a shortcut to a test operation instead of a backup. When Test is selected, the Backup Numbers box is displayed 1,2,5,#,4. You can type in there the backup numbers you want to test. The order you type them in is the order they will be tested in. Use the * character to test all backup numbers, or the # character to test only the last backup.
Repair - if selected, a test for all backup executions will be performed. The missing files in backup will be backed up again.
Repair catalog only - if selected, a test for all backup executions will be performed. The missing files in backup will only be removed from the backup catalog, without running the backup. Those files will be backed up next time you'll run the job.
Quick - if selected, Backup4all will perform a quick test instead of a normal one. That means the application will only test if the files in destination exists or not. Then the backup will be executed.
Cleanup - you can create a shortcut for a Cleanup operation, that will delete the selected backup numbers at the scheduled date. When Cleanup is selected, other options become available to filter the backup numbers that will be deleted:
Newer than - if checked backup numbers that are newer than the selected date will be deleted when the shortcut is double-clicked
Older than - if checked backup numbers that are older than the selected date will be deleted when the shortcut is double-clicked
Older than (fixed date) - backup numbers that are Older than a certain fixed date will be deleted when the shortcut is double-clicked
Do not delete full backups - if this is checked, the full backups will be kept even if they fall into the range of files filtered for deletion
--Do not delete differential backups - if this is checked, the differential backups will be kept even if they fall into the range of files filtered for deletion
Clear the destination folder - deletes any files and folders inside the destination folder even if they are not related to the backup job.
Restore - you can create a shortcut for Restore.
On Where to restore section, you can select Original location or Other location you indicate. For the second option you can use "Do not create drive letter folder" option.
On How to restore section, you can select one of the following options:
Restore the latest version of all files - that will restore all files in backup to their latest version
Restore all files as of a specific date
Restore backup numbers - here you can specify which backup numbers to be restored.
You can use the Restore excluded and deleted files option to get those files restored too.
Once you have selected the Action to be performed and the backup job/tag to run, press OK to create the shortcut. A window will prompt you to select a name for your shortcut and its destination. Once that's completed, the shortcut will be placed in the selected destination.