This article applies only to Backup4all. If you don't have it yet, you must download it first.

Download now Buy licenses
Lorant (Softland)
Jun 30, 2021

Backup4all 8.x

We strive to keep our articles as accurate as possible. If you notice any inconsistencies or outdated info please let us know.

DDN is transforming the way customers are storing, managing and using their data for differentiation and discovery.

Backup4all can access your DDN storage through the S3 Compatible protocol.

How to backup to DDN

Steps to follow:

1. Open Backup4all and select File -> New (Ctrl+N).

stock image 1

2. On the Where do you want to save the backup? page, select Online -> S3 Compatible as backup destination.

3. After selecting S3 Compatible, you need to choose the S3 server. Some of the settings will be filled in, just enter the other credentials. Then press Next.

stock image 3

4. On the What do you want to backup page, add the backup sources. Press Next.

stock image 4

5. On the Filter the backup sources page, you can set include/exclude filters for backup sources. Then press Next.

6. On the How do you want to backup page, you can choose the backup type and the encryption.

stock image 5

7. On the When do you want to backup page, you can set the backup job to automatically run on the specified time and days. Press Next.

stock image 6

8. On the Personalize your backup job page, enter a name for the backup in the Backup name field.

stock image 2

9. Press Save -> Save and run.

How to restore from DDN

Steps to follow:

1. If the backup job does not exist in Backup4all, you must open it from File->Open from.

stock image 7

2. Select S3 Compatible, then choose DDN. Configure the DDN account.

DDN image c

3. After the DDN account was set, press Show to display the backup jobs in the destination. Select the catalog you want to open and press Open. Backup4all will recreate that backup job.

4. Press the Restore (F7) button. Optionally you can select the location you want to restore the files to. The original location is selected by default.
On the same page, you can choose the way in which to restore. You can also filter files before restoring. If you select to restore from a specific version, press Next to indicate the version or the date back to which you want to restore. Press Next.

5. Press Finish to start the restoration process.