This article applies only to Backup4all. If you don't have it yet, you must download it first.

Download now Buy licenses
Adrian (Softland)
Jul 14, 2022
Backup4all 9.x
We strive to keep our articles as accurate as possible. If you notice any inconsistencies or outdated info please let us know.
For Mirror backup type, there is an option allowing you to remove from destination the files deleted in source. This way the source and destination will contain the same files.
The option can be found in Backup Properties->Type page and it's called Remove excluded or deleted files from backup.
By default, the option is unchecked.
Backup Mirror
A second option to be used in particular cases is: Only if the source drive is available. That is usefull if you have sources on a removable/external drive and sometimes it's not connected. This way you avoid the deletion from destination of all files backed up from that disconnected drive letter.
The files deletion from destination phase is executed at the end of the backup.
When you run the backup and there are no files to be backed up, the backup is not executed so the deletion part is also not executed.
If you see there are in destination files which should have been deleted, please check the following:
  1. The option Remove excluded or deleted files from backup is selected in Backup Properties->Type page.
  2. The source drive was connected during the last backup execution.
  3. The last backup was executed and it had files to be backed up.