Overview

English

This help topic applies only to Backup4all. If you don't have it yet, you must download it first.

Download now Buy licenses
Mar 22, 2022
Backup4all 9.x
We strive to keep our help as accurate as possible. If you notice any inconsistencies or outdated info please let us know.
File filtering in Backup4all provides an intuitive way to define what files and folders to back up or restore.

Select Folders and Files for filtering
The files can be filtered when added to backup. On the "What do you want to backup" page, from the Backup Wizard or Backup Properties->Sources page each file and folder is shown in the tree with a checkbox in front of it. If you uncheck it, the file or folder will be excluded from the backup or restore process.
After applying filters, each file and folder is shown in the tree with a checkbox in front of it. If you uncheck it, the file or folder will be excluded from the backup or restore process.

Filter
The role of the filter is to restrict the files from the sources or destination that will participate in the backup or restore process. The filter actually consists of two filters: the include filter and the exclude filter.

Include filter shows which files will be included in the backup or restore process. If the filter type is "Include", it means the files which match the filter will be included in backup.

Exclude filter shows the files that will be excluded from the backup or restore. If the filter type is "Exclude", it means the files which match the filter will be excluded from backup.
You can change the filter type from Include to Exclude or from Exclude to Include if you press the "Change to Include"/"Change to Exclude" button. If no filters are defined, then all the files and folders from sources will be backed up or restored.

Customize
There are special situations when the main filter is not enough to define the files to be backed up or restored. In this case, you can refine the filters adding individual filters for folders. The refined filter applies to all the files and subfolders of that folder. All files and folders for which a refined filter is applied are marked with red.
To remove a refined filter, select the folder, select the filter and press the Delete button.