When creating (or editing) a backup job using the Advanced mode (or Backup Properties), type a new name (that does not exist) for the backup tag. The new tag will be created when the wizard is finished.
Right click on backup list (left panel of the main window) and choose "New Tag". The "Create a new tag" window will appear and you can enter the name of the tag. A new empty tag will be created (which can be selected later from the tags list in Backup Properties -> General page).
Rename a backup tag
Right-click the backup tag from the left side list and select "Rename Tag". A window similar with the one for "Create a new tag" will appear. You can enter the new name and press OK. The tag will be renamed and it will remain assigned to backup jobs as it was before.
Delete a backup tag
Right-click the backup tag from the left side list and select "Delete Tag". A warning message will appear before the deletion. If you choose Yes, the backup tag will be deleted. To assign a different tag for a backup job, you must edit the backup job's properties, uncheck the current tag and select a different tag for it.
A backup job can have multiple tags assigned
The backup jobs are not deleted when you delete a backup tag
Since version 5 of Backup4all, all actions are executed in command line. The interface is also available and you can see the progress in interface. The difference is that now there is a easier process with a single application, no need to set up a different command line application.
A backup operator is an user that can back up and restore the computer regardless of file system security. A member of the Backup Operators group can extract files and directories for which the user would normally not have access.
This article will show you how to download, install and use backup plugins in Backup4all. There are currently over 100 free backup plugins that you can load in Backup4all and easily back-up specific apps and data sets. You can also create your own backup plugins using the Plugin Creator.
This article will show you how to change the backup job's name, tag or icon. All these 3 items can be changed from the same location if you open **Backup Properties (Ctrl+P)** and go to the **General** page. This page defines the appearance of the backup jobs in the backup list.