Limited time promo

This help topic applies only to Backup4all. If you don't have it yet, you must download it first.

Download now Buy licenses
Adrian (Softland)
Mar 22, 2022
Backup4all 9.x
We strive to keep our help as accurate as possible. If you notice any inconsistencies or outdated info please let us know.
Backup4all supports backing up to Hubic. This cloud storage location is known to offer adequate storage space for regular use.

Defining a Hubic configuration

options-hubic2
Before using Hubic as a destination for backing up, you should define a new Hubic configuration in File->Options->Online connections->Hubic page. Once defined, you will be able to apply this Hubic configuration to individual backup jobs.
Press the Add button once in File->Options->Online connections->Hubic to add a new Hubic connection. After you press Add button, the New Hubic configuration name will appear in the list and you can enter the other settings for this connection:
  • Configuration name - Set the name of your choice for the connection.
  • Authentication - pressing the "Choose account" button will open an authentication page in your default Browser application. Log into Hubic to allow Backup4all access to the account.
  • Folder - If you want to use a specific folder, press the Browse button to select the folder or to create a new one.
  • Custom max file size - this option allows you to set a custom file size (by default is 5 GB). It is useful if you don't want large files to be split on upload.
In the Online connections page you can set the number of retry attempts and interval length (wait) for connecting to Hubic. This is a global setting for all Hubic connections. By default, if the server cannot be reached the first time, Backup4all will attempt to connect 5 more times at intervals of 60 seconds. If all attempts fail, then the backup is aborted.
Once you have finished defining the connection, press the Test button to check if the Hubic details you have entered are correct. If the test was successful, The Hubic connection was tested successfully message will be displayed.

Setting the destination to Hubic
When defining a new backup job using the New Backup Wizard, select Hubic in the Destination section (1st page of the wizard). If you already have a defined backup job and want to change the destination to Hubic, select that backup job, open the Properties window (Ctrl+P), go to the Destination page and select Hubic. There you can choose from existing Hubic configurations or create a new connection.
If you have any defined Hubic configurations, you will be able select one from the dropdown list (to define a configuration go to File->Options->Online connections->Hubic ). Alternatively, you may define a custom configuration during the same step of the Backup Wizard.
Once you've entered the connection details, it is recommended to run a connection test by pressing the Test button.
In the File->Options->Online connections->Backup window you can set the number of retries and the time between the retries when the Hubic server is unavailable (the When destination not ready section).

Recommendations for backing up to Hubic
  1. After each change to the Hubic configuration be sure to use the Test function.
  1. If you backup important data to a remote location using Hubic, encrypt the zip files for increased security. In this case, even if another person manages to gain unauthorized access to your Hubic account, your files will still be protected.