Backup4all supports backing up to Azure storage. This is a practical backup destination because the backed up data can be easily accessed from any other computer with an Internet connection.
Use existing configuration
Use this option if you want to use an already defined Azure location in File->Options->Online connections->Azure. From the drop-down list, select the Azure location you want to use.
The advantage is that if you use the same Azure destination for multiple backup jobs and a modification is needed for destination, you can change only the Azure configuration from File->Options->Online connections->Azure and all backup jobs destinations will be updated.
Use this option to add a new Azure location or to edit an existing one by pressing the Edit configuration button.
Here you can see a listing of the Azure settings.
If you configured a new Azure location or you edit an existing one, you should use the Test connection button to see if the Azure settings are correct. If the test was successful, The Azure connection was tested successfully message will be displayed.
Once you press the OK button, Backup4all will try to connect to the Azure server to see if a backup catalog already exists on the destination. If the Azure destination is not available, a Cannot connect to the Azure server message is displayed in the status bar (bottom of the main window).
This window is shown when selecting Edit configuration from the Destination->Azure window.
If you want to add a new Azure location, the <New> option should be selected. To edit an existing Azure location, select it from the drop-down list. All fields will be filled with the values of the selected Azure configuration.
- Account name - In this field you have to enter the name of your Azure account
- Key - In this field you have to enter the key for your Azure account
Key is shared Access Signature - check this option if the key is shared access signature. A shared access signature provides delegated access to resources in your storage account. This means that you can grant a client limited permissions to your blobs, queues, or tables for a specified period of time and with a specified set of permissions, without having to share your account access keys.
- Container - In this field you have to enter the container you want to use as destination
- Folder - In this field you have to enter the folder where you want to store the backups. If the folder does not exist, it will be created.