How to change the backup job name, group or icon

This article will show you how to change the backup job's name, group or icon. All these 3 items can be changed from the same location if you open Backup Properties (Ctrl+P) and go to General page. The General page defines the appearance of the backup job in the backup list.

  • 63 backup properties general

Name

Enter the name of the backup job. This name will appear in the backup list, right under the chosen picture. This field is mandatory.

The name of the backup job is closely related to the name of the subdirectory in destination that contains zipped and mirrored files and to the name of the catalog. That is why when you rename the backup job, the name of the catalog and the name of the subdirectory from destination are also changed if possible.

If the destination is on HDD (local), LAN (network) FTP or SFTP (remote) the name of the subdirectory and the name of the catalog can be always changed, except for the case when you do not have enough permission to rename or some files are locked.

If the destination is on a removable disk, CD, DVD or Blu-ray disc, floppy disc and you have run the backup job, the catalog and the subdirectory in destination are already created and they will not be changed. If the backup job has not been run yet, then the catalog and the subdirectory will be created with a name similar to the backup job at first backup run.

Group

Select the group where you want the backup job to appear. If no group is available or you want to define a new group, just type the name of the group and it will be created. This field is mandatory.


Description

You can write in here a text describing the backup job defined


Icon

Press the Change Icon button to manage the backup job icons. This icon will be shown in the Backup List. You can add a new icon by clicking on the Add button. Only Windows icons (files with ".ico" extension) or bitmaps (files with ".bmp" extension) can be added to the list. To remove an icon from the list, you have to select it and then click on the Delete button. By default, each new backup job icon will be the first icon from the Change Icon list.

Comments


NEW: Backup4All 6.3.278