How to backup your data to ThinkOn

ThinkOn is a Canadian wholesale computing, cloud storage, and networking provider. They have more than thirty years of experience in providing cloud services across North America.

On this page How to set up a new ThinkOn account How to backup to ThinkOn How to restore from ThinkOn

ThinkOn provides S3-compliant Object Storage and offers professional support for 24 hours-a-day. It requires very little time to set-up or to scale up. ThinkOn also features a dedicated interface and provides regular reports on usage.

Backup4all can access your ThinkOn storage through the S3 Compatible protocol.


How to set up a new ThinkOn account

1. Go to https://thinkoncloud.lpages.co/object-storage/

2. Fill in the required information to request a storage trial period

    • thinkon image a

How to backup to ThinkOn

Steps to follow:

1. Open Backup4all and select File->New (Ctrl+N).

    • stock image 1

2. On the first page, enter a name for the backup in the Backup Name field, then press Next.

    • stock image 2

3. On "Where do you want to save the backup?", select S3 Compatible as the backup destination.

    • stock image 3

4. After selecting S3 Compatible, you need to choose the S3 server. Some of the settings will be filled in, just enter the other credentials. Then press Next.

    • thinkon image b

5. On "What do you want to backup?" add the backup sources. Press Next.

    • stock image 4

6. On "How do you want to backup?" you can choose the backup type. Here you can also enable backup encryption. Press Next.

    • stock image 5

7. On "When do you want to backup?" you can set the backup job to run automatically on specific days and at specified times.

    • stock image 6

8. Press Save -> Save and run.


How to restore from ThinkOn

Steps to follow:

1. If the backup job does not exist in Backup4all, you must open it from File->Open from.

    • stock image 7
2. Select S3 Compatible, then choose ThinkOn. Configure the ThinkOn account.
    • thinkon image c

3. After the ThinkOn account was set, press Show to display the backup jobs in the destination. Select the catalog you want to open and press Open. Backup4all will recreate that backup job.

4. Press the Restore (F7) button. Optionally you can select the location you want to restore the files to. The original location is selected by default.
On the same page, you can choose the way in which to restore. You can also filter files before restoring. If you select to restore from a specific version, press Next to indicate the version or the date back to which you want to restore. Press Next.

5. Press Finish to start the restoration process.

    • stock image 8

Applies to:

Backup4all 7.x

Comments


NEW: Backup4All 7.4.461