How to backup your data to Eucalyptus/Walrus

Walrus is a component of Eucalyptus, which is a paid open-source software for building cloud computing environments. Eucalyptus environments are compatible with Amazon Web Services.

On this page: How to set up a new Walrus account How to backup to Walrus How to restore from Walrus

Walrus is the equvalent of the Amazon S3. It provides the persistent storage environment in a Eucalyptus cloud.

Backup4all can access your Eucalyptus storage through the S3 Compatible protocol.

 

How to set up a new Eucalyptus/Walrus account

1. Go to https://www.dxc.technology/contact_us/flxwd/134453-contact_csc_sales to enquire about purchising an Eucalyptus licence,

    • walrus image a

How to backup to Walrus

Steps to follow:

1. Open Backup4all and select File->New (Ctrl+N).

    • stock image 1

2. On the first page, enter a name for the backup in the Backup Name field, then press Next.

    • stock image 2

3. On "Where do you want to save the backup?", select S3 Compatible as the backup destination.

    • stock image 3

4. After selecting S3 Compatible, you need to choose the S3 server. Some of the settings will be filled in, just enter the other credentials. Then press Next.

    • walrus image b

5. On "What do you want to backup?" add the backup sources. Press Next.

    • stock image 4

6. On "How do you want to backup?" you can choose the backup type. Here you can also enable backup encryption. Press Next.

    • stock image 5

7. On "When do you want to backup?" you can set the backup job to run automatically on specific days and at specified times.

    • stock image 6

8. Press Save -> Save and run.

 

How to restore from Walrus

Steps to follow:

1. If the backup job does not exist in Backup4all, you must open it from File->Open from.

    • stock image 7

2. Select S3 Compatible, then choose Walrus. Configure the Walrus account.

    • walrus image c

3. After the Walrus account was set, press Show to display the backup jobs in the destination. Select the catalog you want to open and press Open. Backup4all will recreate that backup job.

4. Press the Restore (F7) button. Optionally you can select the location you want to restore the files to. The original location is selected by default.
On the same page, you can choose the way in which to restore. You can also filter files before restoring. If you select to restore from a specific version, press Next to indicate the version or the date back to which you want to restore. Press Next.

5. Press Finish to start the restoration process.

    • stock image 8

Applies to:

Backup4all 7.x

Comments


NEW: Backup4All 7.4.461