How to create a shortcut

The Create Shortcut window can be opened from the File->Create Shortcut... menu item or by right-clicking the backup job from the backup list and selecting Create Shortcut... It creates a shortcut for the backup job on a designated location and you can simply run the backup job by double-clicking it.

  • 25 create shortcut

Once you have selected the Action to be performed and the backup job/group to run, press OK to create the shortcut. A window will prompt you to select a name for your shortcut and its destination. Once that's completed, the shortcut will be placed in the selected destination.

  • 26 create shortcut2

Run

  • Backup job - Select a backup job from the list to be executed
  • Backup group - Select a backup group from the list to be executed
  • Backup all groups - The shortcut will start the back up for all groups
  • One Touch Backup - The shortcut will start the backup job/group assigned to One Touch Backu


Execute

  • Main application

Option set by default. When you will double-click the backup shortcut, the main application will start and the backup will be executed. Furthermore, if the Close after run option is checked, Backup4all will be closed after the backup job is executed.


  • Command line application

Backup4all has also a command line version. If this option is selected, instead of the main application window a command line window will appear when the shortcut will be double-clicked. After the backup finishes the window is closed. If you want the backup to be executed in the background, you can check the Hide Window option.



Action

You can select an action to perform when you double-click on the shortcut:


  • Backup
  • Type
    • Default - executes the default backup type defined in the backup job
    • Full - executes a full backup, no matter what the backup type defined in the backup job is
    • Differential - executes a differential backup, no matter what the backup type defined in the backup job is
    • Incremental - executes an incremental backup, no matter what the backup type defined in the backup job is
    Clear backup before run
    If this is checked, Backup4all will first delete the ".bkc" file and all zip files associated with the current backup job and after that execute the action.
  • Load - at the scheduled date it opens Backup4all and selects the backup job
  • Test - you can create a shortcut to a test operation instead of a backup. When Test is selected, the Backup Numbers box is displayed 1,2,5,#,4. You can type in there the backup numbers you want to test. The order you type them in is the order they will be tested in. Use the * character to test all backup numbers, or the # character to test only the last backup.
  • Cleanup - you can create a shortcut for a scheduled Cleanup operation, that will delete the selected backup numbers at the scheduled date. When Cleanup is selected, other options become available to filter the backup numbers that will be deleted:
  • Newer than - if checked backup numbers that are newer than the selected date will be deleted when the shortcut is double-clicked
  • Older than - if checked backup numbers that are older than the selected date will be deleted when the shortcut is double-clicked
  • Older than (fixed date) - backup numbers that are Older than a certain fixed date will be deleted when the shortcut is double-clicked
  • Do not delete full backups - if this is checked, the full backups will be kept even if they fall into the range of files filtered for deletion
  • Do not delete differential backups - if this is checked, the differential backups will be kept even if they fall into the range of files filtered for deletion
  • Clear the destination folder - deletes any files and folders inside the destination folder even if they are not related to the backup job.


Priority

User can change the priority of the action started by the shortcut: backup, load, test or cleanup. Just move the cursor to a lower or higher priority level.



Icon

Use icon from backup job


If this option is checked, the shortcut placed on the desktop, quick launch or other location, will have the same icon as the one it has in the backup list. If unchecked, the default Backup4all icon will be displayed.


Tip: drag-and-drop the shortcut in Quick Launch to create a 1-click-backup action (this way when you do a single click on the icon the shortcut action will be executed

  • 27 create shortcut3

Comments


NEW: Backup4All 5.1.558